Metin Sitti and his team finalists for the 2020 Cozzarelli Prize

16 March 2021

The highly prestigious annual Cozzarelli Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to the scientific disciplines represented by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Winners and finalists are chosen among articles that appeared in the journal last year in the six broadly defined classes under which the NAS is organized. Additionally, the Editorial Board has recognized six papers – one in each class – as finalists for the 2020 Cozzarelli Prize. Stuttgart – Metin Sitti, the Director of the Physical Intelligence Department at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, and his colleagues Hamed Shahsavan, Amirreza Aghakhani, Hao Zeng, Yubing Guo, Zoey S. Davidson, and Arri Priimagi were finalists for the prestigious 2020 Cozzarelli Prize. Their Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) article “Bioinspired underwater locomotion of light-driven liquid crystal gels”, presented in this press article dubbed “Underwater Snail-o-Bot gets kick from light” came in second in the Class III Engineering and Applied Sciences category.

Read more